top of page
  • ntandon1

Midterm Project

World War NT


Material Used:

  • Micro-Bit

  • Knob-Analog

  • Button-Analog

  • 3 LEDs

  • 2 DC Motor

  • 1 Servo Motor

  • Battery Pack

  • Transistors

  • Jumper Cables

  • Alligator clips

  • Resistors

What it does/Topic/Experience/Issues:


From a bunch of burns, cuts and band aids, I finally finished my midterm project.


I tried to re-create a war themed display. My whole plan was to make a airplane and just be able to move the airplane with a servo motor and just make the propeller rotate for certain amount of time with the DC motor. It seemed really boring and there is only one thing in display and interacting with my audience. Plus my airplane and the servo did not work out as planned, so I changed the whole thing. Then I did a little of shopping and was looking for a theme for my project. So I thought ARMY, WAR, Air Force. So when I went shopping for material I found this bucket of army men and tanks and helicopter. So then I did a lot of cutting, hot gluing, wiring. The most time took was to correct the pin numbers in my code and making sure the DC motor and Servo to work. Servo motor gave me a lot of trouble because it was turning all over the place and then I had over heating issue. Getting my Servo motor to get intact with the tank was so annoying and difficult it kept of fall off. I really loved the idea with the top of the tank and the servo motor moving it. Building the actually airplane was a hassle as well because the DC motor is pretty heavy so the front of the airplane was heavier then the back. When trying to hang it to the actually box it was difficulty because I had to Also something I got from a students project was to use alligator clips for the LEDs and I really liked that idea, so incorporated it in my project as well. The protect entirely was really fun and I had a great time falling asleep at 4 am. Building an constructing this whole project was an experience and would love to do something like it again in the future.


Reason: I chose this project was because I love watching Army/War like movies. Movies' like War Dogs, American sniper, Hacksaw Ridge,13 Hours: The Secret Soldiers of Benghazi, and Saving Private Ryan. Movies like those I always have a blast watching and then I decided to incorporated some war like themed display for my project. But in the world war is going on in Russia and Ukraine so my idea also did come from what is going in the world as well. I understand the US is not in the war but it still gave me an idea for the midterm project.


  1. Tank- (Knob, Servo Motor, and Red LED)

    1. When knob is being turned the Red LED will go off and is located in front of the tank

    2. Knob also makes the servo motor turn left/right and the top of the tank looks like a controlled sentry tank.

  2. Airplane - Button and Green LED

    1. When green button is pressed on the breadboard the propeller will rotate for 5 secs and then turn off.

    2. Green LED will go off and is located in the middle

  3. Helicopter-Button and Blue LED

    1. When green button is pressed on the breadboard the propeller will rotate for 5 secs and then turn off.

    2. Linked to the Airplane

    3. Blue Led will turn on

Pictures:






Video:













13 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page