top of page
  • ntandon1

FINAL PROJECT:

YOU BETTER NOT WIN

YBNW:



VIDEO/USER TESTING:


After this video I did add more things because I sent the game to about 5-8 people and I got some suggestions and I decided to use them. One was to make a message in the instruction menu too, put in text saying to zoom out if the whole maze is moving when you push down the keys for your player. Second thing was that they wanted control of the music, if they wanted to stop it or play it.


Below is what I sent to my friends/family:



Game Menu:

This is the Game menu where you see the title of my game YOU BETTER NOT WIN. Also there is a key that you can press, and if you press the 'I' key it will direct you to the Games instructions. Bottom right is the creators name which is yours truly!!!



GAME Instructions:


This page only displays when you are in the Game Menu page and you need to press the 'I' key for it to appear. So in this page you have the instructions, shows which keys will control the player. Also tells you to go to a red platform on the top right. The 'S' key will start YBNW game. The 'M' key will take you back to the menu, you can be at any page and press 'M' key do this. Understanding the cases was really complicated at first but once I looked at our old projects and getting help from professor it made a lot of sense.



YBNW GAME:


Now we are in the YBNW , there are 3 levels and the player will need to go pass all 3 level to get to the red platform on the top right. Its not going to be easy, each level gets harder and harder. You have to move around and carefully get to the red platform without touching the maze. If you touch the maze you will be back to the start of the game and you will respawn until you quit. There are a bunch of avoiders that will move around each level to make it harder for you to win. Once you reach and the player touches the red platforms on the top right you will be directed to the PARTY ROOM. If you are a LOSER and cant get to the red platform just press the 'M' key and you will be directed to the game menu. Music is also playing while you are in game Waterflame -space pirates from Geometry dash the mobile game.

HAVE FUN, BUT REMEMBER YOU BETTER NOT WIN

Hardest thing in this page was making sure if the player touches the avoider's, maze, the divider or even the borders, the player needs to be directed back to spawn or the green start rectangle. It was really complicated but was able to figure it out because I have to in my Collison method measure the length and width of each rectangle and avoider for it to correctly work.





PARTY ROOM:

When you get to the red platform or the red rectangle on the top right. You get directed to the Congratulation/ Party Room in YBNW. What is happening is I inserted the Punjabi turban guy emoji and made it move like how we did the bouncing ball assignment. Also if you see you can press 3 keys and they do something different. The 'M' key just takes you back to the main menu. The 'S' key will take you back to the YBNW game where you can try to win again. And the most specials key out of all of them is the 'P' key. The 'P' key plays an insanely loud Punjabi music called "Mundian To Bach Ke". Its very obnoxious but I really wanted to end with a blast. The most difficulty in this page was the music. I had to adjust a lot of thing in order for the music to play and understand how to use many new function. At one time my whole game would go in a error state and I would have to reload because the music was making everything laggy. Then I figured why not let a key do all the work. It was probably the most satisfying thing ever because that was my favorite thing to do and hear in my project.




HOW IT STARTED/WHY:

So originally I wanted to make a maze game and making it look like the scary maze game that I used to play all the time when I was a child. I did a lot of coding and then we started to learn on how to use classes in your P5 code. Professor told me it will be easier and less redundant coding. When I started I had so much redundant code it took me hours and hours to do. If you look at the image below all of that was hard coded, then I made another project using classes and then I didn't like this ides. I was like why not put all 3 mazes in 1 pages and I loved that idea. So I made another brand new project but before that I actually drew what I wanted like just for reference I would change somethings. But the idea of rewriting my whole code 3-4 times was really annoying but it was worth it because I understood my code very easily.


I wanted to make a game that my audience would feel challenged that they aren't able to beat my game. That's why I named it YOU BETTER NOT WIN because it sound so annoying and my audience would wanna play it even more because the game is already saying that you aint going to win this games. I also add a little Indian twist when you win, the Punjabi turban emoji and being one of the most recognizable Punjabi songs in the world will be incorporated in my maze. I just loved how I did that. Since I was a little kid I have been making mazes on literally anything, test, review sheet, quizzes. Like in high school a friend of mine named Mikey we used to make mazes all the time and show it to one another and compete on who had the hardest maze. Like we would bet all the time, we would give it to other classmates to see if they can beat them. Really mazes bring my childish side out and brings backs so many memories in high school.





23 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page